Types of Migraine

Migraine is classified into several types including 4,5,12

  • Migraine without aura: Migraine occurs without warning signals and manifest in attacks lasting 4-72 hours
  • Migraine with aura: Migraine consists of visual and/or sensory and or speech/language symptoms
  • Migraine aura without headache: Typical migraine aura that is not followed by a headache

Migraine stages and symptoms

The main symptom of a migraine is usually intense headache that occurs at the front or on one side of the head.

Stages and symptoms of migraine 4,12

Preheadache stage (one to 24 hours):

Migraine symptoms may include changes in:

  • Mood
  • Energy
  • Behaviour and appetite

Aura (5mins to 1 hour):

Migraine symptoms may include:

  • Visual problems such as flashing lights
  • Zig Zag patterns or blind spots
  • Numbness or a tingling sensation like pins and needles which usually starts in one hand and moves up your arm before leading to a headache.
  • Feeling dizzy or off balance
  • Difficulty in speaking
  • Loss of consciousness

Headache stage (4 to 72 hours):

Migraine symptoms may include

  • Pulsating or throbbing pain on one side of the head, often accompanied by nausea , vomiting and /or an enhanced sensitivity to bright light or loud sound

Resolution and Recovery stage (headache attack slowly fades away)

Migraine symptoms may include

  • Feeling tired